The Captain's (B)log

The Rise & Fall of the Clipboard


We must still have at least 25 clipboards floating around our house and I’m not exaggerating. I don’t know whether it’s attributed to all of our inherent love for writing or perhaps our tendency to hoard random objects. I’ve used the word so many times that I call them CBs for short to save time and oxygen. My family had an inexplicable love for the little spring-loaded writing facilitators.They were such a coveted possession that when I was younger we used them as currency along with pens, pencils and (the ever-present top dollar object) candy! Sadly, this is not the case any more and so begins my story.

We’ve had more fights over clipboards and who they belong to than anything else I can remember. My parents got to the point where they made it Illegal to be in possession of a CB because we we’re stealing them the moment their backs were turned. Naturally we had to start an undercover Black Market operation till the use of clipboards was legalized once again but the verdict did nothing to reduce its popularity. If anything, it made them MORE prevalent. The kids would save up birthday money for clipboards, the older kids would trade for them with their friends and I was the guy to hook you up. If you wanted a CB you came to me. I owned the proverbial turf when it came to CB related transactions.

Ah… the good old days. When I got home from a few month stay in Arizona not too long ago clipboards lay hither and thither like so many discarded toys children were done playing with. Since I’ve been gone the intrinsic value of the CB went down by over 750%. Worst of all, I saw some of them ON SHELVES. A tragedy that never would have been allowed when the market value of CBs was at its peak. The inevitable had come. New technological gizmos and video games had overthrown our old friend. Alas, the CB has gone the way of the dinosaur, the Roman Empire and Michael Jackson but it will forever live on in our hearts… as we look back on the glory that was… the clipboard.

Single Post Navigation

54 thoughts on “The Rise & Fall of the Clipboard

  1. Samantha on said:

    Yea for more posts! Haha, this was a great story, thanks for sharing it. I’m still laughing. πŸ˜€

  2. Samantha on said:

    SamANTHA. My name is Samantha. πŸ™‚

    • Oopth πŸ˜› my bad. Hope I havent lost ya. I know someone named Samantha not on wordpress who said they were gonna check out this blog and she goes by Sam so I thought you were someone else. *good feelings gone* can u possibly forgive me??? πŸ™‚ please?

  3. Samantha on said:

    Sure..

  4. Samantha on said:

    You can’t change a comment, that’s cheating.

  5. Samantha on said:

    Wow, you’re a magician.

  6. Samantha on said:

    Presto Chanjo? How many languages do you speak?!

    • Quite a few actually… American English, British Accent English, Australian Accent English, Pig Latin, the Language of Love and Country Drawl when I want to… what about you?

    • No really I understand the whole getting irritated with someone nicknaming or mispronouncing your name. People tend to call me “Josssssiah” when it’s pronounced “Joziah”. Josssssiah sounds pretty gay if u ask me so I feel where you’re comin from. My sincerest apologies.

  7. Eric Sylvester on said:

    What a weird item to place so much emphasis on. My favorite mundane item? The promo credit cards companies send you in the mail (I liked to feel rich and important). But after the glory of the worthless credit card in my pocket faded, it was all about the rubber cement stuff that stuck the card to the advertisement. It was like boogers that were socially acceptable to play with.

    … Yeah, I’m blogging on this sometime. Haha

  8. Joe-zi-yuh—-love the clipboard post. I own at least three (because they were such pretty colors!). When I host a garden club meeting or anytime I get coerced into volunteering for something, I invariably dig out the ole lime green clip board—that hard plastic board with the shiny spring loaded clip makes me feel uber in charge, uber important. Imagine if you took the clip out of the equation—it would just be a board. No one would look up to you then! πŸ˜›

    Speaking of Australian accents….I was with my dad this morning and he said, “let’s stop and look at cars.” He’s in the market for a new car and we stopped at a Ford place to look at a Ford Escape he had driven some time ago. As we pulled in, some guy motioned our car over. We pulled up and I rolled down my window. In a very good Australian accent, he said, “good day, mates, how kin I help ya?” I thought to myself, “wow….he’s Australian!” When we told him we wanted to talk to a salesman named Mike, he said, in his normal Texas accent, “Sure, lemme go git ‘im.” And here I was, hoping Dad would forget about Mike so we could have Crocodile Dundee as our salesman!

  9. Kylie Michelle on said:

    Hahaha funny love your style of writing its a pleasure to read

  10. I’m with Eric – VERY weird. I do not think we ever owned a clipboard in our house, either when I was a child or when my kids were children! In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever used a clipboard!

    Clearly a different economic time…… πŸ™‚

  11. Not applicable to me? I love hearing a British, New Zealand or Australian accent! if I were in the market for a date (or a boyfriend), it would work well breaking the ice with me, for sure….of course, they would have to keep the accent going for quite some time!

    • Haha NO I was saying not particularly useful for you since I assume you’re not trying to hit on girls πŸ™‚ BUT on the other hand, that advice is very worthwhile! Keep it going for quite some time: Check βœ”

  12. Well, I Josiah, I guess I am stuck in the prehistoric era as I still utilize clipboards at work… as do my teachers. The most efficient and functional means of organization for me to keep all my “crap”, er paperwork, together when observing teachers or administering assessments. Plus we have ’em in all kinds of pretty colors too. πŸ˜‰ Glad to know someone appreciates a good ‘ol fashioned CB.

  13. lifewith4cats on said:

    Personaly I like paper clips better. You can bend them and create sculptures and slingshots and poke stuff.

  14. Those are pretty neat. I’ll never think of beer nuts the same way again.

  15. Andrew on said:

    Haha interesting post

  16. I actually DO have an Aussie accent – and have a New Zealand one if I go back there for a time. My husband can’t tell the difference, just like we can’t tell the difference between Canadians and Americans.

    We’ve never understood the fascination with Aussie accents – many of us think our accent is pretty crappy really. And we will NEVER understand how people confuse UK and Aussie accents – we sound nothing alike! LOL

  17. I, too, enjoy the clip board. Although it’s “old” technology – like putting a post-it on a computer screen (which I see people do often)…there’s something about their old charm πŸ™‚

    • That’s me – I’m one of those people!

    • The post-it note on the screen I meant, of course!

      • I think I have a post-it note addiction …. there’s so many on my computer screen I can barely see the images. Usually go through a whole pad or two at work in a week.

        I’m having a bit of a deja vu moment thought as I feel that I shared of my post -it notes tendencies on J’s blog already… I dunno why? Strange.

        Did ya know Windows 7 has “sticky notes?” Virtual post -it notes! Pretty cool & good for the environment … still love the real things better though. πŸ˜€

        • LOL – no, I put them on other people’s screens! Not mine – my screen is devoid of any adornment. “Call me when you get back”. Drop past my desk” – that sort of thing. “Your wife called and the canary died, what should she do?” is one I still remember from MANY years ago!

        • i love post its. i have some heart shaped ones at work. makes the lads reeeeaaallly uncomfortable! keeps me amused πŸ™‚

  18. GAH you gals stole my thunder…. I was gonna do a post on post-it notes… oh well maybe I will anyways πŸ™‚

    (And btw Belle men who are scared by a heart shaped sticky note need to have their manhood examined)

    • I know. It’s brilliant. Sometimes I make them all tea in the morning and I put a post it on each of their cups with their name on it. It means they leave me alone the whole day… It’s far more productive πŸ˜‰

      • Haha your lucky they’re not American hombres. The whole revolution thing in 1776? That was just a diversion while an elite team of colonists traveled covertly to England and stole all your male’s spines.

        • Hahah, I knew it sounded too elaborate πŸ™‚ no wonder I’m single, I can successful scare any man before 9am! I think I deserve some sort of medal. Do the post it post…. Everyone loves em!

          • Mmm… true. I mean afternoon is fine but us guys like our mornings just so and I don’t think being scared comes into the equation when planning.

            Post it post will = bigger audience cuz more people are into them than clip boards… the words you speak maketh sense unto me. Will do!

    • Bring on the post-it post! Possibilities are endless in regards to post-it notes… Not too sure where I’d be with out ’em. πŸ˜‰ They even serve as impromtu stickers as I pointed out in my “Magical Power of Stickers” post. Bring it!!!

  19. lifewith4cats on said:

    @tinkerbell thats very fun and funny. πŸ˜€

  20. How Did I Reach Sixty? on said:

    I love this post, and the comments. I have several clip boards, one is quite posh with a padded, fold-over cover with a handy pocket. I keep it for important jobs! I also have a British accent (well, Scottish, which is even better) and I love post-it notes too. I feel quite at home here.

  21. How Did I Reach Sixty? on said:

    Oh, it’s definitely the king of clipboards. I was given it as a gift when I started doing market research. (One of these annoying people who knock on your door to ask you to do a survey. But genuine, not trying to sell you anything!) It’s made of beautiful brown leather, definitely a collector’s item for the discerning clip board user. If I come across another one, I’ll let you know. Your friend’s will be green with envy if you get one. πŸ™‚

  22. My version of your clipboard is the moleskin journals. I had tons of them and only filled up 1/4 of each.

    I bought two clipboards because I thought it would help with college. I didn’t use the first one, so I’m unclear why the hell I bought the second one. I was just too busy writing on my many journals.

    But I’ll mourn the death of the clipboard just the same- like when I hear about a celebrity/artist I didn’t follow, but I respected enough that news of their death caused me to go, “Aaahhh, that’s unfortunate.”

Leave a Reply

