The Captain's (B)log

Monday Musings of a Mental Millionaire: Episode I


We all have million dollar questions, some have million dollar babies and others look like a million bucks but very few of us ACTUALLY have that kind of cash. We see and hear it everywhere we go. “What would you do with a million dollars if you had it?” Ok, so perhaps I haven’t achieved the financial status typically associated with the word “millionaire”. Nevertheless I have decided to prepare a list of the more extracurricular items I aspire to own someday. I started with the title, “Frivolous Financial Fantasies”. While tempting to call it the “Triple F” list for short, I think having any sort of F-List comes across as odd so I’ll go with Monday Musings of a Mental Millionaire or MM of a MM for short. I’m going to share these every Monday here on Devastating The Obvious. Stick around and you might find something you like. πŸ˜‰

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

MM of a MM Item #1: Lamborghini Murcielago Roadster – Batman, the coolest super hero of all time, chose this for his town car in Batman Begins. What is a guy without something amazingly hot, foreign and fast by his side? I’ll tell you what he is. He’s just a regular guy and what’s cool about that? No, we want something that distinguishes us from Mr. Millicent Bystander over there, something bursting with 661 horsepower (even guys who don’t know what ‘horsepower’ means still drool at the word) something that can go from zero to 100 miles per hour in 7.5 seconds, something sporty and classy at the same time. For instance; fuzzy red dice! I’ve always wanted a pair of those. Also, a set of awesome neon lights. You know that luminescent glow on the base of street racing cars that make them look like a flying saucer ready to take off? Yeah, add those to my virtual cart.

While we’re on this whole millionaire thing, why not add a vanity tag? Something like… BOOOYAH, WERZURZ? COP B8 or even: ICANTBELIEVEIMFINALLYDRIVINGTHECAROFMYDREAMS!Β  I could run into trouble getting that to fit… and, considering it’s not customary to put bumper stickers on Lamborghinis, I suppose I’ll have to keep thinking. It would be good to keep in mind that; besides the USA, the UK, Australia and New Zealand; the countries of Austria, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Latvia, Luxembourg, Poland, Slovenia, Iceland and Sweden ALL allow vanity plates. Some are completely custom, others only halfway and some with mandatory pink tassels. The point is: if this has inspired you to revamp your car’s backside and you live in one of those nations, you’re in luck.

How fun would that be passing sports cars on the Autobahn tossing off one-liners like Legolas from The Lord of the Rings: “That BMW trouble you? Mercedes are for ladies! Porsche Dork!” and many other rhyming soliloquies to be regretted for their corny lack of preparation at a later date.

This is the first of many Musings of a Mental Millionaire so… don’t go anywhere. But, if your presence is required elsewhere I suppose I could settle for you tuning in next time, same time, same station, for another episode of Devastating The Obvious!

Money Image Sources
Car Image Sources

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Monday Musings of a Mental Millionaire: Episode I

  1. Thanks for the daily laughs πŸ™‚

  2. Eric Sylvester on said:

    I liked this theme! Got me thinking as to what I would do with a million dollars to (frivolously, of course) spend. I would hire somebody to do some basic, mundane task for me every day, and pay him a gratuitous salary to do so.

    Boom. I got it. I LOVE grapefruit, but hate that you have to cut out every little segment of the grapefruit to eat it. I wolf down my grapefruit, and it takes longer to prepare it then it does for me to devour it. I would pay somebody $19,230 a week to be constantly “on call”, ready to prepare me a grapefruit at a moment’s notice.

  3. So I have a question… I’m new to this whole interacting with other bloggers thing, and I really want to list all of the blogs I subscribe to in a widget on my sidebar but I can’t for the life of me figure out how. Have you got the time to talk me through it?? I doubt you want to miss an opportunity for self-promotion πŸ˜‰

    • Sure. You just go to menus under appearance on towards the bottom left your dashboard and create a menu for your blog roll adding links and naming them on the left. Then once you have all the blogs you want to add added, you go to widgets and add a custom menu and then select the one that you created as your blog roll πŸ™‚ Any further questions I’ll be happy to answer. Email me at contactcaptainobvious@gmail.com.

  4. Thanks! I got it figured out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

