The Captain's (B)log

Sleeping In Disorder


Ive been having trouble sleeping the past few nights (I don’t have insomnia or anything, just a few late nights) so I decided to take some Melatonin (a ‘natural’ sleeping drug thingamajig) last night to help it. To my great satisfaction I was out like a light… the bad news was that I took 5 tablets when you’re only ‘sposed to take one. Drugs don’t usually have that much of an effect on me so I was like “Why not extra?” Meanwhile:

Fool that I am. I just woke up… it’s past ten o’clock (I usually get up at 5) and I feel like I have a massive hangover… That’ll teach me to pop pills (however ‘natural’) before hitting the sack… Due to the painful nature of this condition I am reduced to a short post about life as I know it today (who knows? You all might welcome it as a nice change). No funny sign off lines, no poking fun at celebrities… that’s all folks.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Sleeping In Disorder

  1. ahh…. what? drugs have a funny effect on me too, i take flu medicine when i cant sleep as it is the only thing that works. i only take one spoonful now though; a few weeks back i took two and i cant remember the entire morning at work. its like a black hole!

  2. Hmmmm. Thinking I should pick up some melatonin as sleep evades me all too often. I’m guessing I probably shouldn’t take 5 though… just a thought πŸ˜‰

    • Juuuuuust a little over the top. While more consequential with other substances, overdosing on anything isn’t good. But yeah I can testify that it works… two would’ve more than done the trick though.

  3. Jeez, Cap! Glad you only have a sleep hangover. Usually ODs on herbal supplements lead to prolonged worship at the porcelain altar. (Liked the post.)

    • Haha! Fortunately the frequency of my visits to the alabaster throne were right on schedule and not out of the ordinary. Even so, I will be way more careful what I overdose on next time and, unless it’s sugar or coffee, try and stay away from it.

  4. You have a great blog. You’re very witty and satirical. Love that!

  5. You don’t say how many mg each pill is. They are available at (among others) 3 mg, 1 mg and 0.3 mg. 0.3 mg is near the physiological amount. 3 mg is 10 times too much. I hope you didn’t take 15 mg, though it won’t do any lasting damage.

    Melatonin is a hormone. It is not “herbal”. It is only in the USA and Canada that melatonin is a “dietary supplement”. It is prescription medication in most countries and it is unavailable in many countries.

    • I don’t know I would have to check… and yep I’m in the US and I suppose I must have misreferenced it here. Not herbal. Check. Curious: how do you know so much about it? Work at a drugstore or something?

      • Any confusion about dietary supplements isn’t your fault. Most of those ARE vitamins & herbal. The FDA should list melatonin as a medication.

        I know about melatonin as it is one of the few treatments for my circadian rhythm disorder: Delayed Sleep Phase Disorder. My natural sleeping time is 4 a.m. to noon, which is inconvenient to say the least.

Leave a Reply

